Christoph Ingenhoven


born in 1960 in Düsseldorf. From 1978-1984 he studied Architecture at RWTH Aachen and Düsseldorf Academy of the Arts. He founded ingenhoven architects in 1985. International recognition first came in 1997 with the design for one of the “first ecological highrises”, namely RWE Turm in Essen. Since then ingenhoven architects has won numerous national and international awards and distinctions, including the Holcim Awards Gold for Sustainable Construction for Stuttgart Central Railway Station and the International Highrise Award 2012 for 1 Bligh, Sydney. Christoph Ingenhoven is a founding member of the German Sustainable Building Council (DGNB) and the Federal Foundation of Baukultur and is a member of such institutions as the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the Arts.

Louisa Hutton, Foto: Valerie Bennett


is an architect, founding partner of Sauerbruch Hutton and visiting professor at Harvard Graduate School of Design. She previously taught at the Architectural Association in London. Hutton is external examiner at various universities in the UK, gives lectures, participates in juries and attends symposia worldwide. She is a member of the Curatorial Board of the Schelling Architecture Foundation, and was a Commissioner at CABE and a member of the first Steering Committee for the Bundesstiftung Baukultur. In 2014 she was elected as a Royal Academician of Arts.

Jan Knippers


is a civil engineer. He studied and received his doctorate at TU Berlin. Since 2000 he has been Professor at the University of Stuttgart and head of the Institute of Building Structures and Structural Design there. A focus of his teaching and research are new materials and efficient structures for architecture. In 2001 he was made a partner at Knippers Helbig Advanced Engineering, with offices in Stuttgart and New York. The studio focuses on wide-span load-bearing structures and complex building shells.

Swantje Kühn


born in 1964 in Munich. 1991 saw the founding of the studio Becker Gewers Kühn + Kühn Architekten. Since 2003 she has been Professor of Architectural Theory and Design and since 2006 Vice Dean at Ostwestfalen-Lippe University of Applied Sciences. In 2007 GKK+Architekten BDA was established, based in Berlin and Beijing. From 2011 until 2013 she was chairperson of the Urban Design Advisory Board of the City of Bielefeld and since 2013 has been a member of the supervisory board of Zoologischer Garten Berlin AG.

Yew-Thong Leong


is Associate Professor of Architecture at the Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science and the Yeates School of Graduate Studies at Ryerson University. Concurrent with teaching, he is active in private practice: He is Chairman of SSG International, Managing Director of SSG Architecture Inc. and SSG Beijing Landscape Design Co. Ltd. He is a professional member of the Ontario Association of Architects, the Royal Architecture Institute of Canada, the Quadrangle Society of Massey College at University of Toronto, a Scientific Member of the IAC (Belgium), a Fellow of the IIAS (Germany), and was the millennium Chair of the Toronto Society of Architects. Leong attended Ryerson University and the Pratt Institute, New York, where he studied architecture and urban design.

Neil Thomas, Foto: atelier one


is the Founder & Director of Atelier One, which has gained an international reputation as a Structural Engineering Practice specializing in challenging projects. Collaborations with Architects, Artists, and Designers have resulted in many interesting built projects. Neil holds a number of high profile posts in the UK & US educational service, most recently being a Visiting Professor to Yale, and has co-written a book titled ‘Liquid Threshold’ which gives insight to the complex challenges of a number of extraordinary projects. Neil was elected Royal Designer for Industry in 2014.

Horst R. Muth


has headed the Real-Estate Project Management section at Deka Immobilien GmbH since October 2009 and is responsible for all major projects (project developments, revitalizations, technical consulting services) in the national and international property portfolio. The Engineering graduate was previously at Deutsche Bank AG, where he managed and optimized the bank’s real-estate portfolio in the EMEA region (Europe, Middle East and Africa) from an engineering perspective. Prior to that he worked for approx. 13 years as national director at Jones Lang LaSalle in an advisory and management function. He has extensive experience in international real-estate management and has realized numerous construction and highrise projects.

Peter Cachola Schmal, Foto: Bernd Gabriel


born in 1960 in Altötting. Architect, architecture critic and since 2000 curator at Deutsches Architekturmuseum in Frankfurt. In 2007 he was commissioner of the German entry at the São Paulo Architecture Biennale. Since 2006 he has been Director of the DAM, putting on an extensive program with an average of 12 exhibitions a year, numerous symposia, conferences, workshops, lectures and publications. He sits on numerous committees as well as competition and award juries. Peter Cachola Schmal has introduced various architecture awards at DAM, from the “DAM Prize for Architecture in Germany” to the “DAM Architecture Book Award” to the “Buildings of the Year” award with Callwey Verlag.

Thomas Scmengler


born in 1955. Since September 2008 he has been Managing Director of Deka Immobilien GmbH and heads the Real-Estate Transactions division. Having originally studied Economics, Thomas Schmengler was previously managing director of the KIZ Group in Bad Soden-Salmünster (construction/planning/project development). Prior to that he worked for approx. 18 years at Jones Lang LaSalle, where he was finally responsible for German rental and investment business as a management board member. He was also head of the Frankfurt branch of Jones Lang LaSalle.

Prof. Felix Semmelroth, Foto: Dezernat Kultur und Wissenschaft


born 1949 in Kassel; studied English Literature, Political Science and Sociology; awarded a Ph.D. in 1977. From 1978 to 1981 lecturer of English Literature at the University of Bremen; parallel through to 1985 Lecturer of Sociology at the Evangelische Lutherstift in Falkenburg; from 1985 to 1989 Fellow in the English Studies Dept. at Darmstadt Technical University, where he has held an honorary professorship since 1997. As of 1989 Head of Literature and General Cultural Affairs in Frankfurt’s Municipal Office of Culture, then PA to the Lord Mayoress. and as of 1999 Head of the Lord Mayor’s Office. Since July 2006 Deputy Mayor in charge of Culture and Head of the Frankfurt/Main Culture and Science Dept.