Spencer de Gray


studied architecture at Cambridge University. He joined Foster Associates in 1973. In 1979 he set up the Foster Associates’ Hong Kong office, to work on the Hong Kong and Shanghai Bank. In 1981, he was the director in charge of Stansted Airport. Since his partnership in 1991, he has overseen a wide range of projects, including the Commerzbank Headquarters in Frankfurt, the Law Faculty at Cambridge University and the Great Court at the British Museum. He is also responsible for projects in the USA including the Boston Museum of Fine Arts, the new Winspear Opera House in Dallas, Avery Fisher Hall at New York’s Lincoln Center. Recent competition wins include the masterplan for Slussen, Stockholm and the reworking of the New York Public Library, New York. He is the architectural advisor for the Royal Botanical Gardens in Kew, Chairman of the Building Centre Trust and Chairman of the Cambridge University School of Architecture Advisory Board. Now Senior Executive, he shares overall design responsibility for all projects as joint Head of Design.

Matthias Sauerbruch, Foto: Wilfried Dechau


founded the Sauerbruch Hutton office in 1989 jointly with Louisa Hutton. Their buildings include the GSW Head Office in Berlin, the Federal Environmental Agency in Dessau and the Museum Brandhorst in Munich and have won countless awards. Matthias Sauerbruch graduated from Berlin’s Academy of Arts and from the Architectural Association London. He has lectured at Berlin Technical University and at the Stuttgart Academy of the Visual Arts. Since 2006 he has been Professor in the Graduate School of Design in Harvard. He is one of the co-founders of DGNB, the Germany Association for Sustainable Building. For his work, he has won both the Erich Schelling Prize for Architecture and the Fritz Schumacher Prize. He is a member of the Berlin Academy of Arts.

Joachim H. Faust


is a Managing Partner of HPP Hentrich-Petschnigg & Partner GmbH + Co. KG and Managing Director of HPP International Planungsgesellschaft mbH. After studying architecture at the Berlin Technical University and the RWTH Aachen he went to the United States on a scholarship and gained a Master’s in Architecture from A&M University, Texas. After jobs at SOM and KPF he joined HPP in 1987, initially as Head of the Frankfurt office and as of 1994 as a limited partner. Since 1997, he has been one of the company directors. Countless publications in specialist journals and lectures on specific architectural topics. In 2002 won the Texas A&M University. Distinguished Alumni Award. Member of the Chamber of Architects in Hessen and of the DASL.

Ma Yansong


originally from Beijing, received his Master of Architecture from the Yale University School of Architecture in 2002. Prior to founding the Beijing-based design office MAD in 2004, he worked as a project designer with Zaha Hadid Architects in London and Eisenman Architects in New York. He has taught architecture at the Central Academy of Fine Arts in Beijing. He was the winner of 2006 Architecture League Young Architects Award and received the American Institute of Architects Scholarship for Advanced Architecture Research in 2001 as well as the 2002 Samuel J. Fogelson Memorial Award of Design Excellence. His project »Hongluo Clubhouse« was nominated for the Brit Insurance Designs of the Year 2009 and »Hutong Bubble 32« was shortlisted for Designs of the Year 2010 by Design Museum in London.

Harald Kloft


has been Professor for Load-Bearing Structures at Kaiserslautern Technical University since 2002. The focus of his research is on developing resource-efficient load-bearing structures and innovative composite materials in the context of digital planning and production processes. From 2000 to 2007 he was Guest Professor in the Architecture Class of the Städel Academy and from 2007 to 2009 lectured and researched at Graz Technical University. Alongside his scholarly work he is co-founder and co-owner of the internationally active engineering office of ›osd – office for structural design‹, domiciled in Frankfurt/Main.

Prof. Felix Semmelroth


born 1949 in Kassel; studied English Literature, Political Science and Sociology; awarded a Ph.D. in 1977. From 1978 to 1981 lecturer of English Literature at the University of Bremen; parallel through to 1985 Lecturer of Sociology at the Evangelische Lutherstift in Falkenburg; from 1985 to 1989 Fellow in the English Studies Dept. at Darmstadt Technical University, where he has held an honorary professorship since 1997. As of 1989 Head of Literature and General Cultural Affairs in Frankfurt’s Municipal Office of Culture, then PA to the Lord Mayoress. and as of 1999 Head of the Lord Mayor’s Office. Since July 2006 Deputy Mayor in charge of Culture and Head of the Frankfurt/Main Culture and Science Dept.

Thomas Scmengler


born in 1956; worked for Jones Lang LaSalle for 18 years, where he was appointed Head of Investments Germany. He then went on to become Managing Director of KIZ Projektentwicklung GmbH in Bad Soden-Salmünster before being made Managing Director of Deka Immobilien GmbH on September 1, 2008.

Peter Cachola Schmal


is an architect and has been working at the Deutsches Architekturmuseum in Frankfurt since 2000. He has curated exhibitions attracting wide notice like »digital real«, the first show on digitally planned and realized »Blobmeister« (Blob Master) buildings, and »Licht und Schatten in der Architektur« (»Light and Shadow in Architecture«); further exhibitions on the work of UNStudio and Schlaich Bergermann & Partner, and documentation of competitions for projects such as the new ECB building and Frankfurt Terminal 3. He works as an architecture critic and publicist and has been the Director of the DAM since 2006.

Carolina Romahn


studied German, French and Philosophy at the Johann Wolfgang Goethe University in Frankfurt/Main and has since 2007 managed the Frankfurt/Main Culture and Science Dept. In 1999, she joined the City of Frankfurt’s Culture and Science Dept., where she worked on the Literature and PR desk; she later was Chief Executive of the City’s European Office and then headed the Municipal International Affairs Desk.